The 5 Stages Of Intimacy (Which One Describes You And Your Partner?)

The 5 Stages Of Intimacy

Most of us know the “honeymoon phase,” where we can’t get our minds (or hands) off our new partner. But did you know that there are actually 5 stages of intimacy? You and your partner will be able to move forward when you figure out which one best describes your relationship.

New boyfriend or girlfriend? Learn more about them here:


The 5 Stages Of Intimacy All Couples Should Know About


1. Falling For Each Other

The 5 Stages Of Intimacy
You can’t stand spending time apart from each other.

Also known as the honeymoon phase, infatuation can feel like the best part of a relationship. Almost every single moment is exciting and you feel on top of the world when you’re with each other. In fact, it can almost be like an addiction. In your eyes, your partner can do no wrong, and vice versa. That’s why a lot of people tend to miss glaring red flags when they first start dating someone.


2. Landing And Stability

Once the butterflies in your stomach fly away, your relationship falls into a more comfortable kind of love. Everything seems so great and stable that it feels like this is how it’ll always be. In addition, the rose colored glasses of infatuation have come off. You and your partner are both aware of each others’ flaws, and they may or may not be deal breakers. You two might hit a few rough patches or feel distant from each other at times. Sometimes these feelings can breed insecurities and you could be tempted to download a cell phone spy app to see who your partner is texting.


3. Daily Life

The 5 Stages Of Intimacy
It’s easy to lose sight of your relationship in life’s hustle and bustle.

At this stage, your life is intertwined with your partner’s, which means you both might feel a little too comfortable or complacent. It’s not uncommon to have times where you bicker over chores. In addition, sometimes your love for each other can get lost in the chaos of daily life. You might even feel more like roommates instead of husband and wife, with little to no intimacy in your marriage. That’s why you and your partner really need to make an effort to carve out time for each other and bring that spark back. One idea is scheduling dedicated date nights where you can get away from kids, chores, and errands.


4. Acceptance And Appreciation

At this point, you know everything about your significant other. And best of all, you accept all of their best and worst qualities. Everyone has their flaws, and so does your partner. But you know what? They have a lot of incredible traits, too, and those outweigh any flaws. You make a great team and that’s all that matters.


5. True Love

The 5 Stages Of Intimacy
True love is when you’re grateful that you have each other.

The last of the 5 stages of intimacy, this is the most stable and greatest kind of romantic love. You’re more intimate with each other than ever, both physically and emotionally. And more importantly, you’re more than just lovers – your partner is your best friend who’s there for you through everything. Sure, it’s cliché, but happiness really is being married to your best friend.


The 5 Stages Of Intimacy
The 5 stages of intimacy all couples should know.


Despite which stage you’re at, it’s bound to change as your relationship with your SO progresses. Which of the 5 stages of intimacy best represents you and your partner? Do you know any intimate questions that will bring you closer together? Tell us in the comments!


Related Post: Top 5 Ways To Plan A Cheap Wedding

Previous ArticleNext Article
Mallory Mercer
Hot yoga—and hot latte—enthusiast who enjoys getting out there and experiencing everything that life has to offer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *